Brea Olinda USD Board of Education Shifts from Seven to Five Board Members

At the reorganization meeting, two incumbent candidates and one newcomer took their oaths of office to serve on the Board of Education. The newly elected member, Keri Kropke, was sworn in for the first time and will serve a two-year term while incumbents, Nicole Colon and Carrie Flanders, were each sworn in for another four-year term. All members were sworn in by Superintendent Dr. Brad Mason. Gail Lyons was named President, Paul Ruiz was named Vice President, and Nicole Colon was named Clerk.
Outgoing board members Rod Todd, Bill Hall and Steve Sewell were recognized for their service on the board. Mr. Todd has served as a member of the Board of Education for 14 years, Mr. Hall joined the board in 2006 and has served for 12 years, and Mr. Sewell joined the board in September of 2017 when he was appointed to fill a vacant board seat due to the resignation of Mr. Kevin Hobby.
“The Brea Olinda Unified School District is grateful for the dedication, support, and leadership of Mr. Todd, Mr. Hall and Mr. Sewell," said Superintendent Brad Mason. "Collectively, they have spent countless hours attending board meetings, sporting events, performances and activities and have truly made a difference in our schools and in our community.”
For additional information on the Board of Education and a list of future board meeting dates, please visit the district website at and click on the “Board” tab at the top of the page.
# # #